A New Monotype

I’ve recently started a printmaking course with the Open College of the Arts (OCA). The first part is about making monotypes and this is a painterly one I did this afternoon. It’s based on a photograph I took from the plane window as we flew to Marmaris in Turkey. I’m not certain it was taken over Turkey. It could have been Bulgaria.

Sometime ago, I went to an exhibition of paintings by Gerry Halpin at the Gallery at St George’s House in Bolton. Since that exhibition I’ve loved the idea of trying to turn aerial views into artworks, and if I’m able to get the window seat often spend most plane journeys now with my camera ready looking out of the window. This is the first time though I’ve actually done something with one of my many such photographs.

OliveTrees

Olive Groves – Monotype

I taped down my piece of A3 paper along one edge to a large sheet of glass. I then painted onto the glass using Speedball water-based relief inks. I could probably have been able to use acrylic paints but I’m used to these inks for my gelatine monotypes so decided to stick with them. The Book suggested that the whole thing should be painted and then printed in one go. I ignored this and painted a bit, press the paper down to print, painted a bit more and so gradually built up the image over a couple of hours. Here is the original aerial photo for comparison.

IMG_5143

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Art Gallery, Artists, exhibition, Landscapes, Photograph, Printmaking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A New Monotype

  1. That’s an interesting technique. I haven’t tried painted monotypes. Great subject idea.

  2. kestrelart says:

    I think this is really great.
    The ink stays wet enough to do this, clearly.

What do you think?

