International Print Exchange 2014

Earlier this week a package arrived which I excitedly unwrapped but was disappointed to find that instead of it being my IPE2014 prints it was only the travel documents for my next holiday. Today though I was able to collect my prints from the delivery office! Yeah!

IPE14-KThe International Print Exchange is run by Green Door Printmaking Studio in Derby. Although it has been running since 2009, this is the first time I have taken part. I sent of an edition of ten gelatine monotypes, each 14 cm square with a white border. Here are the eight prints I received in return:

IPE14-A

Assembly 1 – Becki Pate – Linoprint – UK

IPE14-B

Job 38:15 The Wicked Are Denied Their Light

John Bergmeier – Serigraph (screenprint) – USA

IPE14-C

Summer Love – Katie Argyle – Linocut – Canada

IPE14-D

My Eyes Think Differently – Michael Hitchens – Whiteline Style Woodcut – UK

IPE14-E

No. 8 – Pauline Clancy – Screenprint – UK

IPE14-F

Robotica – Philip Evan Broad – Drypoint on Copper – UK

IPE14-G

Moon Song – Sophie Fordham – Screenprint – UK

IPE14-H

Madonna – Teresa Parker – Linocut – USA

While this is the first time I’ve taken part in the IPE, I have been involved with the 20:20 print exchange organised by Hot Bed Press since it started, also in 2009. It was interesting to compare the two exchanges.

IPE is for individuals and is fully international with just under half from the UK, and the rest from fourteen other countries around the world. HBP’s 20:20 is organised through printmaking studios. This year, I have been told, we have a couple of non-UK/Irish studios but at the moment we are not promoting the exchange with overseas studios.

This year IPE had 86 printmakers, each producing ten prints. It was possible therefore to give the print recipients information not only about the prints they had got but where their own prints went. Here’s part of the information sheet I received:

IPE14-J

Last year’s 20:20 involved 40 studios, 585 artists and 14,625 prints! We therefore rely on the artists putting information on the back of each print about the technique, studio and so on. We do put all the prints on a flickr site so people can see them. An exhibition of one of each edition tours several of the larger studios. (Here is a video of last year’s exchange reaching Wakefield.) With IPE just being for individuals, the exhibition is only in Derby as far as I know.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Artists, exhibition, Print, Printmaking. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to International Print Exchange 2014

  1. seascapesaus says:

    Two packages in one week! Some striking work here. I notice that you received one of your own prints according to the list. And that there was a direct swap with Katie Argyle from Canada. Exciting to see your random sample.

  2. Katie Argyle says:

    Hi! It’s me, Katie Argyle, in Canada! I see you received my print and I am waiting for yours! Exciting.
    Your print selections are very intriguing. A good sampling of style and technique. Thank you for blogging.

  3. coastalcrone says:

    Thanks for sharing your treasures!

  4. k a t e says:

    The prints you received are all so beautiful! 20:20 seems so exciting, I wish I could view more. Thank you for sharing!

What do you think?

