neo:printprize2014

I remember when I used to be a member of the local photographic society after each monthly competition I always said ‘It’s all subjective, isn’t it?’ Invariably my ‘winner’ was in the judge’s pile of rejects and there were many occasions that I was convinced that the judge was looking at different photographs from the ones I could see from the audience.

In the foreword to the catalogue for the neo:printprize2014, Professor Paul Coldwell says “A different set of judges would have undoubtably resulted in a very different show.” I managed to get down to see the exhibition in the centre of Bolton last Friday even though it’s been on for over a month. I was able to discuss the prints with Jason who showed me round. “I really like this chap’s work,” says Jason. “Sorry it doesn’t do anything for me,” I reply. “I like the way the grain of the wood is used in the sky of this one,” says me. “A bit basic,” says Jason. As I say, competitions are subjective. I could discuss the ones which won the prizes, but I’ll tell you about the ones I liked and the ones with interesting (to me at least) techniques.

My favourite piece wasn’t actually a print! Hey, the Jerwood Drawing Prize was won by a sound piece so whose bothering nowadays? When work was submitted for the competition four images could be uploaded. Gemma Lacey uploaded three prints and a photograph of the cabinet she had carved and used to produce the prints. None of the prints made it through, but the judges liked the Longing Cabinet! Incidentally, I did not realise that it was by a fellow Hot Bed Press printer when I decided it was my favourite!

npp15

npp15a

The three prints on the wall behind the cabinet are my second favourite prints. They are called Also Available in White by Connor Maguire. The main part of each image was screenprinted and then the colour applied with spray paint using a stencil, which I thought was very appropriate for a car door.

This print is a lithograph. I’m not sure what constitutes a lithograph nowadays but this is a traditional one. You can see the outline of the stone used and it has clearly been drawn directly onto the stone with lithographic pencils. It is called Watching by Catherine Ade.

npp03

My entry for the neoprintprize2014 used different techniques for the text on the front of a t-shirt. One of the methods was to print lemon juice onto the shirt, dry it then use a hot iron on it which scorched the cloth. Everyone remembers ‘invisible ink’ when they were children! Kaori Homma used vinegar and a gas cooker in a similar way (the catalogue says ‘acid and fire’) to produce these two prints. (Sorry for my reflections.)

npp60

Arcadia According to  Claude with a view of

Dounreay Power Plant

npp61

Arcadia According to  Claude with a view of

Sellafield Power Station

My final favourite was a mixed media piece called Her Ladyship Remembers by Susie Liddle. It was an installation of textiles, most of which were cyanotype printed.

npp40

The exhibition is on at neo:gallery in the Market Place in Bolton until 2nd November.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Art Gallery, Artists, exhibition, Print, Printmaking, textiles and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to neo:printprize2014

  1. Lovely selection here 🙂

What do you think?

