Postcards from the Great War – 01

I’ve decided to launch a new blog featuring my comic postcards from the First World War. Bits still need tweeking!

The Humour of the Great War

With just a week to go to the commemorations of the outbreak of the Great War in 1914, I’ve decided to upload some of my comic cards of the period which deal with aspects of the war. They are mainly by Douglas Tempest (who mainly drew about life on the home front) and Bruce Bainsfather (who had served in the trenches). In addition I’ll post some cartoons from my bound copies of Punch.

douglastempest01B

Artist – Douglas Tempest, Published by Bamforth & Co.

“Comic” Series No. 397

Postmarked July 9th 1917

View original post

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

