A Positive Day

Today I had a very interesting and positive day. I went for a portfolio review session at neo:artists where I met Kwong Lee, director of Castlefield Gallery in Manchester. I wasn’t sure what to expect. Castlefield have a reputation for conceptual work. They had a stall next to Hot Bed’s at Manchester Contemporary last autumn. I remember two of the pieces they had. One had a word sewn on to a slide which was then projected on to the wall. The other involved canvases that had been eaten away by fungi. My work does not fit in with such work.

However, it was a very positive session. I’d thought the forty five minutes allocated would a bit long. As it was the time flew by and we finished up overrunning. Among other screenprints, I’d taken some of my Salford Quays prints as I wanted some advice, firstly. about which direction I should take with them and, secondly, about marketing them.

Salford2a Salford1aKwong made suggestions about a couple of outlets in Manchester I could approach and also about print fairs. He also discussed ways I could stretch my technique, but stressed the importance of a recognisable style. I intend heading in the direction he suggested. I’ll let you know in time how it’s going.

After collecting my camera lens from the menders and buying a new battery for my mobile at a fraction of the price I expected to pay, I headed to Levenshulme Market as Kate Downes, a fellow printer from Hot Bed Press, had a stall. The whole market was excellent but it was great seeing Kate’s stall. I’d seen her print individual pieces at Hot Bed Press and seen others at fairs but this was the first time I’d had the opportunity to see a large number in one place.

Kate_at_Levenshulme_Market

Kate said she had had a good day and was still in profit even after the wind had blown a large glazed print off her stall, the glass smashing everywhere. Kwong had suggested looking at print fairs. Kate said that it was planned to have themed markets with one every month being art and craft. I think I’ll check it out. As I said a very positive day!

 

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Art Gallery, Marketing, Printmaking, screenprinting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Positive Day

  1. The portfolio sessions are excellent. Mine was with Paulette Terry Brien and it was very beneficial.

What do you think?

