A Thank You To Facebook

Yesterday I posted a comment from a Facebook group from Catherine who had undergone a mastectomy following breast cancer. She felt she was able to discuss her feelings with her Facebook friends.

Social media frequently has a bad press, such as the Twitter trolls who abused speed skater Elise Christie after her disqualifications in Sochi, and many are worried about Facebook and personal information. I recently was looking at sheds from B&Q and, surprise, surprise, ads for B&Q sheds popped up on Facebook. I know this is just a matter of cookies so I’m not really bothered. However I sent a private email to my daughter at work. She works at a housing association. I was concerned when ads for a government house purchase scheme started to appear.

Having said that, I would like to say a big thank you to Facebook, or at least the Facebook community. Catherine was able to discuss her physical illness. Recently I have seen friends and family able to share problems about mental health, difficulties with sexuality (or at least other people’s reactions to their sexuality) and even the bereavement of a daughter. I know that often a physical pair of arms around you is needed, and the internet cannot provide that, but the stream of positive comments which flowed from the online Facebook community to these people was tangible. So, a big bouquet to the Facebook community!

On a totally different point, I had to laugh at the Nemi cartoon in today’s freebie Metro newspaper. It may be an aspect of ‘If life hands you a lemon, then make lemonade’ or it could be a comment on how some people (perhaps artists?) see situations in different ways. I recently posted a quote from Graham Sutherland on Art Quote of the Day saying “Almost everything, if one keeps one’s eyes open, is potential material for painting.” Perhaps Nemi, rather than her supposed artist friend, is the true artist.

nemi280214A

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Thank You To Facebook

  1. coastalcrone says:

    Though I am not one to post a lot of personal details, I have been guilty of criticizing those who do. Yes, social media does sometimes help! I should practice more of the tolerance I want from others!

    • It depends on what you mean by ‘personal details’. I am only saying that recently people I know have found support from the online Facebook community when they needed it. I know it’s not for everyone.

  2. Y. Prior says:

    great little cartoon at the end – 🙂

What do you think?

