Julia Is On The Monet

At Julia’s Monday morning Drawing Class, organised by Enjoy Learning, we are looking as different artists and then producing work in their style. For the last couple of weeks we’ve been looking at Cezanne and using oil pastels. I enjoyed copying one of Cezanne’s landscapes, but my own landscape, a kasbah in Morocco, was less successful.

Today we copied some of Monet’s landscapes in soft pastels. I chose his Poplars from 1891. This version that I’ve found on the interweb thingy is a lot brighter and with a lot more reds and purples in the bushes than the reproduction handed out by Julia:

monet-poplars-four-trees-aI laid down a background of greens, greys and purples. When I was satisfied, I sprayed this first layer.

monet01The orange (which was duller on my copy) was added next.

monet02Next came the bushes

monet03

and finally the poplars themselves.

monet04I was happy with my completed piece – at least until I saw the above ‘original’ on the interweb! My piece should have been much cleaner and brighter. Here’s Julia with the group’s work at the Show and Tell. My piece is in the middle of the top row.

monet05Next week we’re using pastels to produce a work in Monet’s style. I’m toying with the idea of using a photograph of Bolton Parish Church to produce a Rouen-Cathedral type drawing. We’ll see!

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Artists, Drawing, Landscapes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Julia Is On The Monet

  1. I like it. Copying other artists is incredibly hard 🙂

    • But it makes you look carefully at how they achieved the effects they did. I copied an Andre Derain portrait some time ago. Only by doing so did I understand his grey underpainting which I then used in a selfportrait in his style.

  2. ms6282 says:

    Bolton as Rouen. I like your idea!

  3. Y. Prior says:

    Thanks for sharing in this post – loved it!

  4. Pingback: Julia’s Class Reduced To Rouens! | notes to the milkman

  5. Pingback: P79 – Research Point – Series Artists | The Milkman Goes To College

What do you think?

