A Bit On The Side

On Monday morning I went to Julia’s drawing class. I’m not sure if my presence has had any effect on the class and the way Julia runs it – I only joined this autumn. I get the feeling everyone else is happy to be making detailed drawings in pencil, while I like working more expressively, such as ink and reed pen. However, in this second set of classes , Julia has given two options. The first is to continue with detail in pencil, which some have chosen to do, while the rest of us work bigger and more expressively with other media.

On Monday we used charcoal on A1 paper. Julia started with a series of exercises. The one I particularly enjoyed (not drawing with the ‘wrong’ hand – I hated that one!) was using the side of the charcoal stick. Fair enough the statuette 0f two ballet dancers lent themselves to this approach but I was pleased with the result.

side01

And here is the original statuette I was drawing

side02

Tonight I went to a different Julia’s Life Drawing session and decided to try this use of the side of the charcoal stick. Generally I was happy with the results as I like working in a loose style. Steve, the model, was holding poses for 10, 20 and 40 minutes. I tended to finish a drawing and then move to another chair to do a second or third drawing for the same pose. Most of the drawings therefore are 5-10 minute ones. Unfortunately I’ve had to photograph them by a very poor light so I’ve had to convert them to greyscale and the background is not very good.

side03

side04

side05

side06

This last portrait had some end of stick bits added – not all a bit on the side.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Artists, Drawing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bit On The Side

What do you think?

