Electric Printmaking – Day 2

Yesterday’s course on Electric Printmaking was not as I had expected. What was billed as ‘not for the faint hearted’ and promising ‘scope to play with electric engravers, drills and routers’ to produce ‘brash and gutsy’ images turned out to be drypoint using an engraver instead of a hand needle – something your granny could do.

I’d decided to insist on using the router on wood and arrived with large pieces I’d found on a dump near the studio. I was told, rightly, they would not be suitable as they were wet. However, I was allowed to use the router under constant supervision by the tutor. This meant that while I was using it no-one else had any tutorial help. I drew a design based on some leaves I’d collected on the way this morning. Here is the drawn and routed 2mm plywood I used:

electric_sheep08

and here is my third print from the block, by which time the black, which had started as a pale grey, had darkened to a charcoal grey.

electric_sheep09

This is somewhere along the road to the course I’d signed up for, but only a few steps along it.

I inked up and printed my Electric Sheep (as dreamt by androids) (I was going to insert a hyperlink here to explain the reference, but for some reason WordPress won’t let me do so tonight) both as the original two-colour (which I don’t like) and as a single colour (better).

electric_sheep10

electric_sheep11

I didn’t bother inking up my thin aluminium plate.

And so an unsatisfactory weekend draws to a close. (Yes OK, Rosie, I know there was a lot of Dr Who stuff on, but you know what I mean!)

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Artists, Printmaking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Electric Printmaking – Day 2

  1. ms6282 says:

    Perhaps “the Man in the High Castle” prevented you inserting your link, John

  2. hhmmm food for thought though

  3. anne farmer says:

    I think the sheep is great – imperious. Except…they have oblong pupils (horizontal) -: it makes them look special. Well I like sheep anyway!

  4. Nancy Farmer says:

    Oh what a shame you weren’t allowed to let rip with the router. Bleedin ‘elf an’ safety, innit! I do like the one that you did, though, more gutsy, definitely, than the sheep, who is a lovely sheep but, yes, delicate, and not gutsy…
    Not familiar with this router thingy, perhaps it is a thing you can purchase? What I think of is the huge machine like a pillar drill on steroids, that stood in the metalworking rooms at school, but I imagine you are using some kind of dinky hand-held thing to get a drawing like that….

What do you think?

