It’s Trumpet Time!

Just occasionally it’s great to have the chance to blow one’s own trumpet. Several good things have been happening on the art front recently.

Firstly, I delivered two prints to Nexus Art Café in Manchester’s Northern Quarter recently for their Origins exhibition which is designed to coincide with the Manchester Science Festival. One print is a solid black blotch with a small white explosion in the centre and, near one corner, a small arrow with the words ‘You will be here (in 13.8 billion years or so)’. The other is white except for a series of dots and dashes across the middle which reads “What hath God wrought” which was the first message sent by Morse along the first telegraph line. The opening for the show is 14th October. Come along if you’re in the area! (Philippa is excused as Oz is too far!)

nexus_origins_poster

Secondly, tomorrow morning I’m off to Clitheroe to deliver “I Can’t Afford Campbells Nowadays”, my version of Warhol using a ‘value-range’ soup tin from the local supermarket. It was shown at the Stockport Open. It has now been accepted in the RVAS Open Art Exhibition which has the theme “Looking Back – Moving Forward” so I thought bringing Warhol up to date with current cuts in art funding was appropriate.

rvas

As I mentioned the other day, one of my prints (from my Salford Quays series) sold at the Manchester contemporary. I got an email today about a sale of my Warhol soup can. So, all in all, a good week!

And I’ve finished my 20:20 prints! Here is the print some lucky printers around the country will be receiving during November (but not in Swansea I might add)! Most of the quotes I’ve used on my Art Quote of the Day blog.

20'20A

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Art Gallery, Artists, exhibition, screenprinting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to It’s Trumpet Time!

  1. I read somewhere that Andy Warhol’s family were so poor that his mother mixed tomato ketchup with hot water because she couldn’t afford tinned soup. Campbell’s was a luxury item and his artwork was a comment on the poverty of his childhood. You’ve taken it full circle.

  2. seascapesaus says:

    Congratulations John! A week of great achievements. The 20:20 print exchange sounds exciting – growing by the year. Glad you got those screens under control in time. (Just a month earlier and I would have made it to the opening at Nexus. Home again now).

    • I’ve already suggested that we should go ‘international’ but the problem becomes the cost of distribution. A box containing ten or twenty smaller boxes each with twenty prints for the artists plus two or four others for the studio is heavy!

      • seascapesaus says:

        It is the sort of thing a ‘government grant’ might handle. In the good old days. Perhaps I will try to send a link to a local print-makers studio. There’s one nearby called Bittondi who are a bit interesting.

  3. Loving your 20:20 print John…hope I get it in my box of 20!

  4. Congratulations, John! Well deserved.

  5. starrybird says:

    Brilliant! Well done! There’s nothing like selling for making you feel that what you’re doing is worthwhile…

  6. Confirmation that someone else likes your work is always good! Thanks!

  7. coastalcrone says:

    Cheers all around for your success!

  8. Nancy Farmer says:

    Yay! well done on everything 🙂

What do you think?

