A Revelation And A Funny

A quick post from me today as I have a load of holiday photos I want to process  before tomorrow evening. Firstly, I had a revelation last week when I went to drop off two prints for an exhibition in Manchester. I met the curator of the show and thought to myself “Aha! He’s an artist as he is wearing the Flat Cap of Art!” Then it finally dawned on me! According to artybollocks.com, to be a certified artist one must “at least occasionally produce works of art,” or at least “talk about producing it a lot” or even “going to start it next week”. What I realised was that many of these wearers spend so much time running art galleries, curating exhibitions, sending out mail, chasing cheques, and generally administering to the needs of artists and the art-loving public that they don’t actually have time to produce their own artworks. What I thought was the Flat Cap of Art is, in reality, the Flat Cap of Art Administration!

Secondly, my son sent me the following funny via Facebook. It is from The Meta Picture. I think it’s a gem!

cool-recognize-artists-paintingscool-recognize-artists-paint2

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Artists, Cartoon and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to A Revelation And A Funny

  1. coastalcrone says:

    The cheat notes for art are great! Sometimes Facebook does have something clever.

  2. Nancy Farmer says:

    Oh yes, I know all about the flat cap of art administration, I have to admit that I have been mired in admin/exhibitions/framing/studio upheaval etc, etc since the end of June and I am beginning to think enough is enough, it’s about time there was actually time to do the actual art… (I don’t have a flat cap… I do ,however, have three very nice waxed cloth brimmed hats made by Australians and suitable for all imaginable weather, will they do?)

    • The Australian Waxed Cloth Brimmed Hat of Art? Hmmmm …. How is SAW going?

      • Nancy Farmer says:

        It could catch on… Tony had a flat cap, but the cat… did not approve… and dealt with it in a rather permanent way. Probably the cat does not like art, either.
        SAW is slowish, but ok. Slow start last year but came out ok in the end Not actually open mondays-wednesdays here so have really only had 2 days so far. Thanks for asking 🙂

  3. hahahha hilarious. Now I can’t ever look at Van Eyck’s with a straight face again! Of course, the Flat Cap of Arts Administration is for men. Ladies don the Australian Waxed Cloth Brimmed Hat of Art Administration.

  4. Nancy Power says:

    Good one! I shall look out for the Flat Capped types and giggle to myself now. The tips on recognising artists are hilarious, they could have done so many more!

  5. paperstew says:

    Oh, what a good morning laugh! Thanks John!
    🙂

  6. Great post John Boy! x caps off to ya!

  7. What are you doing on the interweb at this time? Aren’t you neant to be modelling in Horwich at 7pm?

  8. seascapesaus says:

    It has all become clear. Art history, hats, the lot. My education is complete. I can retire happy, happily. I might get started on a painting, next week. My hat collection grows but doesn’t include the waxed variety. I suspect they don’t crush well or they don’t get sold second-hand. Some excuse or other.

    • Sorry about the previous confusion. I remembered Australia had featured in the discussion and thought you had contributed.

      • seascapesaus says:

        It’s ok, I’m just catching up! In art history lectures my friend and I used similar tricks to this ‘funny’. Bellini showed little bellies, Mantegna’s compositions were often built around an ‘M’ and that’s all I can remember now. But they helped in swot vac and the exams. Brought a smile under pressure too.

What do you think?

