Back From My Hols!

No posts for over two weeks! That’s cos I’ve been on me hols! But I’m back!

We went cruising. No, not like that! I mean we sailed around the Aegean and Black Seas on a ship. When I’m away, I take a lot of photos but this time I managed to do some drawings as well with a fine line pen.

cruise1_House_in_Mykanos

The Greek island of Mykanos was very pikcherskew and I drew several things within a few yards of each other. This is the door of one of the houses while below is the back of a church.

cruise2_White_Church_Mykanos

(The first attempt involved running out of space due to getting the proportions wrong.)

The home port of the ship was Marmaris in Turkey where we spent a full day as some passengers left and others arrived. This gave me the opportunity to do quite a bit of drawing.

cruise3_Steps_Marmaris

cruise4_Back_Street_Marmaris

cruise5_Bollards_Celebration

cruise6_Catamaran_Marmaris

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing, Landscapes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Back From My Hols!

  1. ms6282 says:

    Thought you’d been quiet!

  2. anne farmer says:

    Like the bollards! I’m rather keen on drawing them myself

  3. cynt5525 says:

    Welcome Back!!! Love your drawings… 🙂 *Cynthia

  4. Red Hen says:

    Welcome back. I bet that break was really restful. I can only ever really draw like that when I`ve nothing else to do and am utterly rested. Glad you got that kind of break.

    • I certainly needed a rest. It’s hard work being retired! Having to drag yourself out of bed at half ten, rushing down to the print studio (on free public transport, of course), having to spend hours on Facebook and Twitter! and writing posts for my blog! 😉
      Joking apart, I would have liked to have spent more time sketching but we had limited time at each port stop with lots of things to see – and photograph. I particularly wanted to sketch in Istanbul (we went twice) but trips to Istanbul Modern and the Cistern together with a posh lunch at the Orient Express Restaurant, a beautiful Art Deco establishment at Istanbul Railway Station, meant no sketches.

  5. starrybird says:

    Sounds and looks like sketching heaven! Eeee… I aven’t heard pikcherskew since I moved South from Lancyshire 30 years ago!

  6. coastalcrone says:

    What a special treat to see you sketches. I’m not sure what pikcherskew means though. It must have been a great holiday!

What do you think?

