‘Steal Like an Artist’ – an Experiment

Must get hold of a copy of this Austin Kleon book!

the creativity of escape

-Almost everything in this post is stolen.- The title. The painting. Even the wax crayons I painted with are kind of stolen.

A little while ago I bought a book called “Steal Like an Artist” by Austin Kleon. It is very small, so I can take it anywhere with me, and it is fun to read. What I really like about the book is that it really motivates you to be creative and do whatever it is you like doing. I feel like I can just take the book and open a random chapter or page, and after reading it I feel like I want to get started on the next project immediately.

So why stealing?

The author says that all art is stolen somehow. In the book he says that if you want to learn or get inspired, look at one artist you love and steal from him or her…

View original post 348 more words

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ‘Steal Like an Artist’ – an Experiment

  1. coastalcrone says:

    Thanks for the reblog and recent like for one of my posts.

  2. ms6282 says:

    If you have one of those Kindley things you can get a copy for £1-57 on the Amazon website.Probably not as good as having a hard copy though, I guess.

  3. ms6282 says:

    Also meant to mention I’ve been following Austin Kleon’s blog for a while
    http://austinkleon.com/blog/
    I like his newspaper blackout poems

What do you think?

