Three Cheesy Prints And A Cartoon

Last post, I showed three cheesy prints which I’m thinking of trying to sell for a tenner online. I was advised by Petra on Saturday evening that this could stop my being able to sell my art prints for realistic prices. These are three more which I printed today. I’m currently thinking of trying to sell them under a pseudonym – currently Simon Stilton, since they are cheesy!

ownprints04

ownprints05

ownprints06

Now I need help to solve my dilemma. Please vote!

Some time ago I posted a cartoon by Lauren Purje. I hadn’t realised that she publishes a cartoon every week. This is today’s gem:

almostfinished-640

Finally, as Mr Google has been telling everyone all day, today is Rembrandt’s 407th birthday. If you didn’t catch it at the time, this video was a tribute for his 400th birthday in 2006. Most amusing, IMHO!

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Artists, Cartoon, Marketing, Printmaking, screenprinting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Three Cheesy Prints And A Cartoon

  1. I’m too indecisive to vote, but a pseudonym could be fun to explore.

  2. anne farmer says:

    Wrong pseudonym: you say the captions are ‘cheesy’ but they’re not ironic enough to be bought as cheese. If people buy them, it will be because they’re into down-to-earth goodness. Doug Wellyn might be appropriate.

    They’re great drawings, anyway. Shame to write on them.

    But I vote for selling them under your own name. Are people really going to stop buying your other work?

    • Love the name Doug Wellyn!! The drawings are not my own, in case you thought that, but from The Graphics Fairy, an excellent site for retro images: http://thegraphicsfairy.com/
      As regards the question in the last paragraph, most people have suggested that they would expect to pay similar prices for ‘art’ prints as these cheesy prints.

  3. You might find it difficult to sell other types of artwork if you become associated with a particular genre.

  4. Pingback: Some Shows I Should Have Reviewed Earlier! | notes to the milkman

  5. Mark Bieri says:

    Hi, I found you vis-a-vis Lauren Purje… They’re nice prints, sell ’em! My only caution would be to avoid attaching Audrey Hepburn’s name to your work. The Audrey Hepburn Children’s Fund is very protective about the use of her name and/or imagery for commercial gain.(http://www.audreyhepburn.com/menu/index.php)

What do you think?

