Looking At The World From A Different Viewpoint

I came across a remarkable set of photographs yesterday via Twitter. What was photographed was certainly not remarkable – very ordinary rooms – but what made them so was the unusual bird’s eye perspective. According to the Guardian article, photographer Menno Aden has been documenting how young people in Berlin find themselves homeless due to the gentrification of poorer areas, and has won an award for his work.

His work has been described as “abstracting familiar domestic and public interiors into flattened two-dimensional scale models through challenging camera angles.” According to the Guardian, Menno’s work will be on display at the Wandsworth Museum until 14th Sept 2013 in an exhibition entitled Home, My Place in the World. However I cannot see his name on the large list of photographers showing.

Here are some of the photographs from the Guardian:

Menno Aden 1

Menno Aden 2

Menno Aden 3

Menno Aden Untitled/Kitchen II

Menno Aden Untitled/Kitchen III

Menno Aden Untitled/S.E.

***

Have you checked out my Art Quote of the Day yet?

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Art Gallery, Artists, exhibition, Photograph and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Looking At The World From A Different Viewpoint

  1. I wonder how he got up there?

  2. seascapesaus says:

    my vertigo just worsened, but it was worth it!

  3. Nancy Farmer says:

    Amazing! The ceilings look three times as high as they should be, which is odd… I wonder if he has taken the photos with a fish-eye lens and then used some fancy computer-work to remove the distortion? Otherwise I can’t see how you could do it. Admittedly I live in a house with a ceiling within touching-distance and I am aware that not everybody does, but still, they look like the floor is a good 20 foot away…
    Interesting how all the rooms look cluttered and unappealing when seen from the wrong angle – even the neat tidy rooms.

  4. kestrelart says:

    Wow. This is incredible, especially the first.
    Somehow the Leonard Cohen lyrics came to mind. Now I have to listen to that album again.

    They sentenced me to twenty years of boredom
    For trying to change the system from within
    I’m coming now, I’m coming to reward them
    First we take Manhattan, then we take Berlin

What do you think?

