Where I’m Going Wrong!

I’ve figured it out!! Recently I came across this self portrait by L S Lowry whose major exhibition at the Tate opens next week.

(c) Ms Carol Ann Lowry/DACS; Supplied by The Public Catalogue Foundation

Then I saw a photograph of Picasso.

pablo_picasso_artist

But when I saw Denis Whiteside (who I mentioned in my review of the Android exhibition) this morning at the neo:artprize exhibition (review to come) it finally dawned on me.

denis_whiteside_artist

Here’s Jason and Adrian (whose performance piece I covered) also from neo:artists

jason_simpson_artist

adrian_pritchard_artist

Meanwhile there’s Andy and Martin from Hot Bed Press.

andy_magee_artist

martin_kochany_artist_crop

Seven artists who I admire greatly all with one thing in common! I need a cap to make it in the art world! Then, when I am in the same class as these greats and when I have work in an exhibition, as I currently do at Bolton College, I won’t need to seek out a tutor to ask ‘Can my version of Whistler’s Nocturne in Blue and Gold – Battersea Bridge be hung the right way up please?’ If you compare the bottom left of my four pieces with my post A Go At Whistler you’ll see the problem.

Bolton_College_Exhibition

One thing I must mention in case it causes any confusion is that my avatar is a print I made a couple of years ago based on a photograph I had taken of a busker in New York’s Central Park. Being a musician, he was an artist too. Could he have won the neo:artsprize? Possibly. If a poem can win then … No, I’ll wait until I write the review before I start on that!

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Art Gallery, Artists, exhibition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Where I’m Going Wrong!

  1. Do you think this might work in reverse, that is my husband has the cap but not the painting or printing skills … that we know of . Love reading your blog , so many thanks, Vanessa 🙂

  2. anne farmer says:

    If you want to get ahead get a hat – bit you’re too young to remember that.

  3. seascapesaus says:

    Just love this John! There must be something in the beret lining that engenders the right stuff. Op shops would probably have the best ones with arty muse worn in. I always thought those people were just losing their hair. And what a travesty being hung upside down (for such a famous painting too). Yes, the bunnet would lend some art-thority I think.

  4. Indeed, if you want to get ahead, get a hat. I can’t believe they hung your painting the wrong way up.

    • I was expecting problems with my sunset as painting it just with a roller had given it a more impressionistic abstract look to it. I thought the one based on Whistler was more obvious. But then what do I know? I haven’t got the cap!

  5. American yoof say “I’m gonna pop a cap in yo’ ass”. I have no idea why they want to insert a gentleman’s hat into a donkey!

  6. seascapesaus says:

    Reblogged this on seascapes aus and commented:
    Take a moment see things from John Pindar’s viewpoint. You will smile!

  7. seascapesaus says:

    Reblogged! couldn’t resist it. Thanks John.

  8. Pingback: No 14 Paul Cezanne | Art Quote of the Day

  9. Pingback: After Hours At The Whitworth | notes to the milkman

  10. Pingback: I’m Making An Exhibition Of Myself! | notes to the milkman

  11. Pingback: Stockport Exhibition And The Price Of Art | notes to the milkman

  12. Pingback: London 1 – Caulfield, Hulme and Some Bloke Called Lowry | notes to the milkman

  13. Pingback: A Revelation And A Funny | notes to the milkman

  14. Pingback: Sketching At The Library | notes to the milkman

What do you think?

