Sand Sea and Spray – Part The First

Today I had a day out in sunny Blackpool – and it was sunny too! Robin Ross, I understand, was tearing what little hair he has out on Friday evening, thinking that the whole weekend was going to be ruined by the weather. However, I ensured it would be warm and dry by wearing a thick fleecy and my raincoat!

So the artists painting today at Sand Sea and Spray 2013 had a good day. (I believe one or two people associated with the event had had a good night on Saturday, as well, and were nursing hangovers.) Unlike last year when I could only go on the Friday before most of the artists had got going, I was able to take quite a lot of photographs, both of them in action and also of finished pieces. As a result I am posting the photos in two batches.

Poster_SSS

Arriving by train I walked down to North Pier. (On the way I made my biggest mistake of the day by popping into a charity shop seeking original art and came out with three thick heavy books instead which I had to carry around in my bag all day. Silly boy!)

At the end of the North Pier I found Agent Provocateur aka AP spraying some pieces of cardboard for sale in the SSS shop in town. His panel had several of his familiar pieces. I loved his Three Graces.

North_Pier_AP1

North_Pier_AP2

Close by, Infected By Design was at work.

North_Pier_Infected_By_Design

There were finished pieces by Zina (who I featured in my recent blog along with AP)

North_Pier_Zina

and also by Oliver Winconek.North_Pier_Oliver_Winconek

On my way over to the Winter Gardens site, I saw a piece by French artist Kashink.

Kashink

There were several artists working at the back of the Winter Gardens where there are panels fastened to the wall. Faunagraphic was chatting to friends as she worked on her beautiful piece. Unfortunately, I don’t know the name of the gentleman working next to her.

Winter_Gardens_Faunagraphic3

There’s something about Faunagraphic which doesn’t fit in with the stereotype of a street artist.

Winter_Gardens_Faunagraphic2

Winter_Gardens_Faunagraphic1

A photo of the finished piece was tweeted shortly afterwards. Further up the road were Toasters, Tank and Foundary.

Winter_Gardens_Toasters1

Toasters’ work features … er … toasters!

Winter_Gardens_Tank2 Winter_Gardens_Tank1

Tank is from Germany.

Winter_Gardens_Foundary1 Winter_Gardens_Foundary3 Winter_Gardens_Foundary2

I then went further up the road on the way to the next site, but you’ll have to wait for Part 2 to see the photos from there.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Artists, Street Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sand Sea and Spray – Part The First

  1. Helloo! I’m one of the people talking to Fauna Graphic in your photo! As a fellow blogger I’ve found it hilarious that I’ve appeared in someone elses! I only found you because Caroline shared the link on Facebook, but I’ll be following you from now on, I like your style 🙂

  2. ms6282 says:

    Never ceases to amaze me these guys (and women) can do with a spray can or two

  3. Foundry Art says:

    Hey great blog. Thanks for the pics, glad you enjoyed the sun like us! Just as a note it is actually FOUNDRY even though Robin Ross insists on spelling it numerous different ways! Cheers

    • I suspected he was wrong especially when you are from Sheffield (where I was born) and there were no a’s in any foundries there when I was a lad. However, who am I to challenge the word of Ross? 😉

What do you think?

