Hockney and Artist Statements

Another contribution to the discussion about artists and their statements about their work came to light yesterday via Twitter. There was a link to several quotations by David Hockney on a site called Brainy Quote. The one that appealed to me was:

“It is very good advice to believe only what an artist does, rather than what he  says about his work.”

The other one I liked (but doesn’t have anything to do with artist statements) was:

“The  moment you cheat for the sake of beauty, you know you’re an artist.”

There were a lot of others, and not just quotes from Hockney either, but other artists too. I’m wondering, should I start an Art Quote of the Day blog? If so, should I do fancy jpeg versions which can be uploaded to peoples’ pinterest accounts? This is what I have in mind. (This is not my original work, but what I would upload would be.)

Painting, n.: The art of protecting flat surfaces from the weather... Ambrose Bierce

(I was introduced to Ambroise Bierce and his Devil’s Dictionary in book form over forty years ago, long before the advent of the interweb thingy, by an American girlfriend. I still think of a baby as “a misshapen creature of no particular age, sex, or condition, chiefly remarkable for the violence of the sympathies and antipathies it excites in others, itself without sentiment or emotion.”)

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Artists and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hockney and Artist Statements

  1. I’ve started my new blog Art Quote of the Day here: http://artquoteoftheday.wordpress.com/2013/06/09/no-1-vincent-van-gogh/
    Please please can I have feedback? I’ve not gone out of my comfort zone in that it is on wordpress with the same theme as this blog. I’ve had one suggestion of going with a different platform such as tumblr. I’d appreciate any feedback soon as I don’t want too many alterations once I start posting in earnest.

  2. hahah love the quote about the baby 🙂

What do you think?

