What A Performance At Neo:artists!

Today I had great fun playing with paint at neo:artists in Bolton. Sorry! I meant to say was that today, as a co-creator, I helped artist Adrian Pritchard produce a work called ‘Cubed Overflow Painting 2013’. This involved serious pouring of paint onto the middle of a pair of wooden cubes.

neo00

Adrian Pritchard

neo01

The cubes before the performance

Neo:artists are currently showing an exhibition called Through, which is more concerned with the artistic process more than the final product. “The ‘process’ in process art refers to the process of the formation of art: the gathering, sorting, collating, associating, patterning, and moreover the initiation of actions and proceedings. Process art is concerned with the actual doing and how actions can be defined as an actual work of art; seeing the act of making art as its primary expression. Process art often entails an inherent motivation, rationale, and intentionality. Therefore, art is viewed as a creative journey or process, rather than as a deliverable or end product.”

So, as I said, we poured paint onto the cubes at roughly minute intervals:

neo02

neo03

neo04

neo05

neo06

neo07

neo08

neo10

neo09

There were some very interesting effects as the paint flowed and mingled:

neo11

neo12

neo13

And I’ve not even mentioned the other works in the show …. and don’t forget the neo:artprize2013. The closing date is midday on 13th May.

(Incidentally, this is my first post using my new laptop. I’m still trying to get used to it, and trying to get it to do some of the things I took for granted on my old one. I know how Rosie Scribblah feels like in Idaho using a mac for the first time!)

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Artists, exhibition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What A Performance At Neo:artists!

  1. Interesting concept – lovely to see the layers build up although there seems to be a point where it becomes too complex but perhaps I am missing the point. I assumed that participants chose their own colour of paint? I wonder how much deliberation went into the choosing in response to what was there already? Or maybe an intuitive response is more appropriate? Would have been good to be there and watch the transformation take place – good photos of the process.

    • Adrian had prepared cups of paint beforehand, but it was up to the co-creator to choose which one to use. The choice was usually based on the colours used immediately before – dark following pale, red following blue for example.

  2. Pingback: Where I’m Going Wrong! | notes to the milkman

  3. Pingback: What Do Poems Make? Prizes! | notes to the milkman

What do you think?

