A Couple of Useful Resources

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m currently doing a Drawing course with the OCA. Last week I spent a significant amount of time trawling through my student blog (The Milkman Goes To College) for any images which I had lifted from Bridgeman Education. They have got stroppy about use of their images on public-accessible blogs and were threatening the OCA with cancellation of their licence.

I was able to replace most with the same image found elsewhere on the interweb thingy. Some I replaced with links to the Bridgeman site (which is allowed) while others I simply deleted. It was a frustrating waste of an afternoon, as far as I was concerned, but the alternatives – replacing all the images with links or making my blog private for my tutor and myself – were not acceptable.

So I was interested on my Leeds trip yesterday to see at the LAG a notice next to Walter Sickert’s ‘Off to the Pub’ with a link to a website called Yorkshire’s Favourite Paintings. Unfortunately, while there was useful information, it is not possible to save their images.

DACS; (c) DACS; Supplied by The Public Catalogue FoundationOff to the pub – Walter Sickert – 1912

This image is from the BBC site Your Paintings. The BBC are in partnership with the Public Catalogue Foundation site. The PCF have photographed all the oil paintings in public collections in the UK. (That’s 211,851 !)

Going back to the Yorkshire’s Favourite site, it is worth looking at the stories which members of the public have uploaded about the paintings. Mr R. Sim, in response to the prompt ‘I love this painting because:‘ wrote “The emotion it creates. I would guess that 9 out of 10 viewers would see this painting as “home from” rather than “off” to the pub. See the red face of dad and the huge fist. Mother’s battered face. On the wall a picture or is it a mirror? It could almost be a noose. Is this mother’s destiny? If this sounds like the voice of experience it probably is. I see this picture each time I visit the library in Leeds. I am instantly reminded of how I “grew up” by getting between Husband and Wife when I saw the signs of a visit to the pub.” He then added, responding to the prompt ‘I would like to hang it:‘ with “Every supermarket and off licence selling alcohol to young people.”

Do people know of other resources of works of art which could be useful?

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Art Gallery, Artists, Painting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

