A go at Manet

Having had a go at one of Degas’s pastels of a ballet dancer last week, this week we had a go at a Manet pastel portrait at our pastel class this week. I don’t think this had anything to do the Royal Academy exhibition which opened today. Pure coincidence! (You’ll have to wait about a month for my review of the show.)

edouard_manet_portrait_of_george_moore_detailDetail of Portrait of George Moore (1879) by Edouard Manet

At least this week the cardboard we used was a similar colour to Manet’s substrate so I didn’t have the same problem as with the Degas. One of the main problems I had was matching the basic skin tone. I used yellow shaded with orange, red and white as I didn’t have a ‘flesh’ coloured pink pastel.

I knew there was something basically wrong with my version and eventually I realised that I had made the left side of his face (i.e. his right cheek) too fat which made his face less turned than it should be.

One thing I found a bit frustrating was that most of the lesson was spent doing solid areas, such as the face. Only a relatively short time was spent on the ‘fun’ bit of the feathering and other free, expressive marks, which I particularly enjoy. Anyway, here’s my version. The finished piece is on A3 card so I lost quite a bit of the edges, particularly the bottom, on my A4 scanner.

collage 017aMy version of Manet’s Portrait of George Moore

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Artists, Drawing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A go at Manet

  1. seascapesaus says:

    Your work is lively and feels fresh. It is so easy to overdo pastels. All the bits are there, just a bit more time on it perhaps?

What do you think?

