Techniques With Pastels

This is an exercise in pastel techniques from an evening course I’m doing at Bolton College. I’ve originally posted it on my College blog but thought I’d reblog it here.

The Milkman Goes To College

As well as my OCA work, I am doing a pastel drawing course at the local college. This evening we were drawing a lemon using different techniques. While the exercise is not an OCA one, I thought I’d share the results here as I feel it is very relevant.

lemon-pastel-blendingThe first week of the course (tonight was the third week) was drawing a sunset over a landscape using blending techniques so we had encountered this one before. Lots of solid colour are drawn on top of each other so they blend together. (Further blending can be achieved with fingers etc. but I did not use that method here.) After this drawing I changed my lemon as I found the knobbly end and grooved nature of this lemon were an unnecessary complication when I had several techniques to investigate in a two hour lesson.

lemon-pastel-featheringThe second technique use feathering. This was…

View original post 274 more words

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Techniques With Pastels

  1. seascapesaus says:

    I enjoyed seeing these examples – so many ways to tackle things! “Blending” looks really fresh.

What do you think?

