Catching the Odd Perspective

An interesting comparison of styles. I know which I prefer! When people say to me “It was a wonderful painting/drawing etc. It was almost like a photograph” I’m afraid I’m often tempted to say “Well, why didn’t they take a photograph then? It would have been quicker.” I love Larry’s work (via the link) and can understand why Aline has gone on his course.

Paintings by Aline

I haven’t mentioned it before, but I have been taking a figure drawing class at the Institute with Larry Christian.  Larry’s approach to drawing the figure is the opposite of academic drawing.  He pushes us to  draw quickly, intuitively, expressively.   The techniques are familiar ones, but to please Larry, we must apply those techniques more fluidly and expressively to create an image that is unique.

I took this course with Larry before, in the spring of 2006, when I was just getting started as an artist.  At that time, I was obsessing on landscapes, particularly plein air painting.   Now that I have done a 180 on that preference, and also come to admire Larry’s drawings, I was motivated to retake the course, hoping to find out how Larry achieves his dramatic effects.  For the only images of his work I could find online, click here.  By way…

View original post 463 more words

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Artists, Drawing, Reblog, Techniques and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Catching the Odd Perspective

  1. seascapesaus says:

    I have to agree. If there is nothing left for the imagination the art game is all washed up. Apart from that, what a beautiful drawing of Aline’s!

  2. Yeah! Aline’s work ain’t so bad – which is why I pin a lot of it on my pintrest boards.

  3. clinock says:

    I’m impressed to say the least. I’m taking life drawing classes right now and the challenge for me is enormous and humbling. I face this nude human and want nothing more but to honour his/her body with my pencil / pastel / brush but I am constantly overwhelmed by the sheer humanity and complexity of the subject. When I look at Aline’s work I understand what it means to attain this skill and am inspired to keep on trying…

What do you think?

