Collage Workshop

I’ve not investigated collage very much but this post has inspired me to do so! Perhaps then I’ll need a blog called The Milkman Goes To Collage!

woman walking slowly

This weekend I took part in a Collage workshop at the Haus der Familie in Bonn.  The workshop leader was Rose Kretzschmar, a local artist.  I had previously taken a workshop with her called Intuitiv Zeichnen (Drawing intuitively) a couple of years ago and had enjoyed her open and experimental approach to drawing.  The workshop this weekend was in the same spirit.  I have not really tried collage beyond using partial images, which I then extend through drawing.  I have included an example of this below.

Image 5

I approached this workshop with the intention of following any suggestions made regarding techniques, and also experimenting with colour and materials until an image suggested itself.  I decided to use the human figure as a theme as I am focusing on life drawing at the moment.

I produced two collage in the workshop itself on irregular paper sizes, and then explored another…

View original post 942 more words

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Artists, Collage, Reblog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Collage Workshop

  1. violetski says:

    Thank you so much Milkman for introducing this lovely blog! 😃❤

  2. clinock says:

    “The Milkman Goes To Collage”! – what a ripping punster you are. I’ve spent a lot of time in collage / mixed media classes and always introduced my high school students to art with collage work. It’s non-intimidating, filled with many possibilities and can be an excellent springboard into other media, such as extending into drawing as in the first image above. I explored the link and liked what I found – thanks John…

What do you think?

