ArtReview: 2012 Power 100

I don’t want to make any judgements myself, but I just wanted to share this link with you:

ArtReview: 2012 Power 100

I just noted how few artists, and British artists in particular, are in the list. OK, Al Weiwei is third, and there are a couple of German artists in the top ten, but I can only recognise Damien Hirst at 41 as a British artist, and Nicholas Serota, the Director of the Tate, as the highest placed Brit at 8. I liked Pussy Riot at 57 one place higher than Jeff Koons.

Is there any significance to this list? Should artists be the ones with power rather curators, gallery owners and museum directors? Does it matter? As I said, no judgements from me.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Art Gallery, Artists and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ArtReview: 2012 Power 100

  1. What a long list of people I’ve (for the most part) never heard of! it would be interesting to see a breakdown of the list into numbers of curators etc., also regions of the world. I am guessing that the list is dominated by the US & Europe. I wonder how many are curators of public collections? I see that Nicholas Serota has slipped from 6th place last year!

  2. hmmmmmm I do my best to ignore the art establishment but that’s where the power is, to be sure…..

What do you think?

