Manchester Contemporary – A Postscript

I had some prints in the Hot Bed Press browser at the Manchester Contemporary and I sold one of them!

Imperial War Museum North

I’d priced this print as a pair with another print:

I tend to produce prints in pairs as most of the artwork on the walls of my home are in twos, threes or fours. I was a little surprised that the purchaser had only wanted one of the prints. I asked Sean, who had been manning the stall and had sold the print, about this. “One was portrait and one was landscape. They would have bought both if they’d both been the same.” Quick mental review of the artwork at home. You know what! The individual bits of each pair/threesome/foursome are the same size, same shape and, significantly, the same orientation! While it was nice to get a sale, this feedback was far more valuable. Future pairs of images will be printed with the same orientation.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Print, Printmaking, screenprinting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Manchester Contemporary – A Postscript

  1. Nancy Farmer says:

    ‘fraid I have to agree: it’s a question of composition… mostly I’d like them the same way round too, or you could get away with two portraits and a landscape and vice-versa.

  2. seascapesaus says:

    Congratulations on the sale John. The first image is reminiscent of armour and pointy things that kill – nice parallel! Interesting though that the mind of the purchaser is on something so practical. worth knowing!

  3. That’s an interesting point – I’ve taken note now 🙂

  4. clinock says:

    What a positive boost it is to actually make a sale – good one John! I’m with Philippa, she has summed it up nicely…

What do you think?

