Research 4B – A Drawing in the Style of Patrick Caulfield

This is the second part to my research about Patrick Caulfield.

The Milkman Goes To College

This is the follow up to the research about Patrick Caulfield himself.

“Find out more about Patrick Caulfield and how he uses positive and negative space, for example in his “White Ware” screen prints. Make a drawing in a similar style.”

When I started researching Caulfield, the first picture I pulled up on Wikipedia was “After Lunch”. I liked this when I first saw at the Tate and fancied doing a drawing in this style so I drew the bay window of my living room with sofa and TV.

Bay Window (after Patrick Caulfield)

I added the brown curtains as I noticed that Caulifield often adds a small amount of a second colour such as with “Arita Flask – black”. The main problem with this picture was that I did it in pastels so it was difficult to get the flat areas of colour favoured by Caulfield. I…

View original post 490 more words

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Research 4B – A Drawing in the Style of Patrick Caulfield

  1. CarolAnneS says:

    Your Caufield-like piece appeals to me. Expertly balanced composition and rich but not overpowering colours. I like the comfort of domestic scenes and this one has style.

What do you think?

