A New Reduction Print

Sometime ago I explained how I did a reduction print. On that occasion I simply brushed screen filler across a photoscreen with a toothbrush as I wanted a “distressed” look. Here is the link to the video we did for youtube (and featuring Plastic Bertrand!)

Reduction Screen Print Video

“Soulman” Edition of 10

Today I started with a plain blotch screen of the required size. I’d processed a photograph of a cabaret singer I’d taken using Posterize in Photoshop to split it into three colours plus white. Unfortunately I can’t find this version on my computer but here is the cropped original photo.

I put the posterized version under the screen on the lightbox at the studio and painted out the white areas. I then printed yellow ochre:

I washed off and dried the screen before painting out the next areas and reprinting with red:

More washing, drying and screen filler and then the final dark brown:

I was really chuffed with the final result. OK, I had a copy of the posterized picture under the screen when I was applying the screen filler to which some purists may object, but I’m happy. Yeah!

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Print, Printmaking, screenprinting, Techniques and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A New Reduction Print

  1. mobius faith says:

    A great image. Work to be proud of.

  2. The technique has really lent power and atmosphere to the image. Great work, John. Very interesting video as well.

  3. Drew Kail says:

    Nice job. You achieved so much depth with only three colors. The image is great.

    • Thank you Richard and Drew. I realised today that the above information contains an error. I didn’t use “posterize” but produced three layers and then used different amounts of “threshold” before blending to get the required effect.

  4. Deanne says:

    Thanks for sharing your techniques. Lovely result.

  5. seascapesaus says:

    WOW! just found this John. Terrific result!

What do you think?

