Titles: Part 42

Here is a screen print I editioned yesterday. I’ve a problem with the title. Please take a look as it is i.e. without a title, and decide what you think.

I could simply call it “Coexist”. Then it would be judged as it is.

However the wall is a photograph I took in the Croatian city of Dubrovnik which I visited recently. It shows shrapnel damage sustained during the Homeland War when the town was shelled by the Serbs. I saw the “Coexist” made up of an Islamic crescent, a Jewish Star of David and a Christian crucifix on a T-shirt in Mostar, another city which suffered major destruction. It wasn’t originally sprayed graffiti, as it appears in the print.

“Coexist” is a bit too vague as there is no suggestion as to what is being shown. A title such as “Shrapnel Damage” or even “Walls of Dubrovnik” I feel, though, is a too precise, telling the viewer what to think.

Any suggestions, please? I want to enter it in a competition this weekend, and I refuse to call it “Untitled”!

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Print, Printmaking, screenprinting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Titles: Part 42

  1. seascapesaus says:

    what about “Dubrovnik demands”
    or “the people’s plea” although that doesn’t locate it geographically.

  2. brondove says:

    Or simply: Dubrovnik + the date you saw it?

  3. Nancy Farmer says:

    I would simply call it ‘Coexist’. Simples 🙂 people can see the shrapnel damage and draw their own conclusions as to whether this is an aspiration or a statement of fact.

  4. I think the ‘co-exist’ is what grabs the attention and gives the photo meaning.

  5. scribedoll says:

    I know I’m late – sorry – but I like the title COEXIST.

  6. Thank you for all your comments. The print was entered for the neo:artists competition under the title “The Plea”.

What do you think?

