Gesture Drawing – or ’30 seconds? You must be joking!’

I came across the term Gesture Drawing in an art magazine recently. I don’t know how common this term is for very brief figure drawing but there are references on the interweb. In fact I found this tool to help with such drawing. (I like the fact that the opposite of nude is not ‘clothed’ but ‘decent’.)

The chap who wrote the art magazine article described using the pause button on a recording of a cricket match for his practice of gesture drawing so, armed with a bleeping kitchen timer set for thirty seconds I tuned into ESPNAmerica. The programme ‘Sports Reporters’ had features on college football and Yankees’ pitchers. (Yes, I am a Brit and yes I am talking about American Football and Baseball!) I used the pause button to produce the following:

The only thing I can say – Rosie Scribblah! I salute you! (and you don’t even have a pause button with real life!)

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Art, Drawing, Techniques and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Gesture Drawing – or ’30 seconds? You must be joking!’

  1. seascapesaus says:

    This is tough work! The postures read well so I think that means you have nailed the gestures. Line quality comes after a few years…

  2. Leanne Cole says:

    I remember doing gesturals in art classes, lots of very quick poses. Most classes started with them, a really good way to warm up and get into it.

  3. settleandchase says:

    Really like these, they work together so well just as they are too!

  4. Thank you 🙂 I guess I must be VERY indecent lol

  5. Pingback: 30 second sketches « Settle and Chase

  6. settleandchase says:

    I finally tried it!
    http://settleandchase.co.uk/2012/07/13/30-second-sketches/
    Not nearly as good as yours but was great fun, I’ll do it again!

  7. Aline says:

    After a while, 30 seconds starts to feel like a pretty long time.

  8. I suspect you take a little longer than 30 seconds on the life work you upload! They’re brilliant!

What do you think?

