And talking of awards!!!

Drew Kail has nominated me for an award – and it’s not the BDD Award either! It is the Sunshine Award which is given to bloggers “who positively and creatively inspire others” so Drew’s nomination is a great honour.

The Rules:

1. Link back your post to the blogger that nominated you

2. Answer the following 10 questions

3. Nominate your favourite bloggers who you feel best fit the award. Link them to their pages and let them know they’ve been nominated.

Questions:

1).  What is your favourite colour? (OK, I’ve added a couple of “u”s but I’m on the right hand side of the Pond!)

Having resisted the answers of ‘tartan’ and pink, I’d say at the moment the aqua I’m using for prints combined with lavender is one of my favourites. I matched both colours to an Art Deco print in a book. Ten years of shade matching as a colourist in the textile industry is finally proving useful!

2).  What is your favourite animal?

Henry, my son’s King Charles Cavalier Spaniel. He’s a Blenheim, which means he’s brown and white.

A little British rain doesn’t stop us playing ball!

3).  What is your favourite non-alcoholic drink?

I always enjoy a glass of raw juice when eating at Wagamama’s. According to their site, it’s made from carrot, cucumber, tomato, orange and apple.

4).   Do you prefer Facebook or Twitter?

Facebook. I do have a Twitter account which I recently opened but as yet rarely use.

5).  What’s your passion?

Art – particularly printmaking. And I spent my working life in labs and teaching science!

6).  What’s your favourite pattern?

When I’m drawing I love drawing curves and curved shapes (e.g. female life drawing), but they’re not really patterns.

7).  Do you prefer giving or getting presents?

Giving. When it comes to Christmas, the rule in our family is that each present must cost less than £5 and must either be bought from a charity shop or be made by the giver. One of the things this means is that far more thought needs to go into the giving than usual.

8).  What’s your favourite number?

I tend to do things in twos. When I do a print of an image I usually do two colourways, or do two images of a subject. When I go shopping I’ll get two packs of bacon and so on.

9).  What is your favourite day of the week?

When you are retired, every day is a favourite day, but I’ll have to say Tuesday. It’s usually a printing day at Hot Bed Press (though not today because of the Diamond Jubilee Bank Holiday) but the Daily Telegraph has reviews of the latest art exhibitions. Today there was an interesting article about a portrait of Ruth Bromberg by Frank Auerbach which will be coming up for auction in the near future.

“In 1991, Joseph wrote to Auerbach to ask him to paint Ruth’s portrait and, although the artist rarely accepts commissions, he agreed. The sittings began in 1992, and continued every Thursday for the next 17 years, during which time some 20 portraits were finished… In an interview with Catherine Lampert, conducted in 2001, Ruth described how her portrait sessions would be structured: 45 minutes in which “Frank begins to paint over the remains of the scraped-down version of my previous portrait sitting”, accompanied by discussions on art and artists, but then followed by an hour of painting in complete silence. ”

10).  What is your favourite flower?

I love drawing, photographing and just looking at lilies.

One of own photographs

My nominations (in no particular order):

Down By the Dougie. Named after the River Douglas which flows through Wigan which is close to Bolton where I live, this is the first blog I ever followed.

Barbaraelka. It’s fairly straightforward to get a single good shot. Barbaraelka manages to get a whole series of excellent shots on a particular theme. These dolls, which someone described as ‘brides of Chocky’, are really really scary!

The Future is Papier Mache. Some fascinating street shots which now have titles as a result of one of my posts.

Deanne of Obsolescence Project is also kicking the same ball around.

PictureS is the only artist I know who produces time lapse videos as he produces his paintings. They give a fascinating glimpse into the creative process.

Patternsthatconnect is about abstract art but Andy sometimes goes off on some interesting tangents.

Scribblah can scribble some great scribbles. I particularly like her life scribbles.

Thank you to all the other artists, photographers and generally fun guys and gals whose blogs I enjoy reading but haven’t linked to. Sorry but I couldn’t list you all. Thank you all the same for your inspiration and encouragement.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And talking of awards!!!

  1. Congratulations on your award, John! And thanks very much for the nomination!

  2. Leanne Cole says:

    Congratulations on getting the award, it is a lovely thing to receive. Nice to get to know you a little better as well.

    • Thank you. I saw an award on someone else’s site where they were told to give five random facts about themselves. It was interesting what they came up with. Here is a random fact about me – I collect (and read) pre-1961 Green Penguins. Before you tell me that penguins are black and white, I’m talking about Crime and Mystery Penguin books the covers of which, up to 1961, had green, white and green horizontal bands. In 1961 they introduced illustrations on the front covers, hence the cut off date.

  3. Well done, and thanks for the nomination. I think of my tangents as similar to free association. Good colours! (I find tone matching particularly difficult in acrylics, as they dry darker).

  4. Deanne says:

    Yes thank you so much for the nomination. I’ll have to get round to the reply, but in the mean time much appreciated. Cheers

  5. Pingback: OT – Awards and Nominations « Obsolescence Project

  6. Pingback: And the nominations are …… | Down by the Dougie

What do you think?

