Breaking Through the Sticky Curtain–Not

Isn’t it great when a painting finishes up the way you want it to? Forget the “suffering for one’s art” bit. “Even the brashness of the spots where the canvas is showing through seems to bear witness to my energy, and pleasure.” Yeah!

Paintings by Aline

Last week I mentioned the occasional magic of a painting that seems to complete itself,  all in one session (process known as “premier coup”  or first strike), and contrasted that happy event to my more common process of reworking and fussing over a painting.  Well, Tuesday morning, in the course of my regular Tuesday Life Group,  magic struck.  The result is above.

I long to be able to paint the way John Singer Sargent did.  I don’t mean I want to make paintings that resemble Sargent’s (although I would not turn down such a precious gift); rather I want to be able to place a brush stroke with confidence in just the exact right place for it, and not have to amend the color or value.  Sargent worked like a fiend for many years in order to attain such apparently confident perfection.  But even after he achieved the pinnacle of…

View original post 368 more words

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breaking Through the Sticky Curtain–Not

  1. Aline says:

    Holy Bovine! Am I the nominee for the BDD award? I didn’t use the word “dialectic”, so not fair!

What do you think?

