OK. So why do we do life drawing?

Art by Nancy Farmer

This is not a rhetorical question. I don’t mean it in the sense that one might ask ‘What’s the point of Simon Cowell?’ because there is undoubtedly a lot of point in life drawing; in fact there are a number of different very good points to life drawing, and that is exactly my problem.

I don’t draw from life when I compose my paintings. I may occasionally grimace in the mirror or hold up a hand or an elbow to see the outline of it at a certain angle, but on the whole I am drawing (no pun intended) upon my knowledge of human anatomy and how everything hangs together when I put together a composition. The advantage is that this gives me greater freedom to bend the rules a little, to compose for dramatic and pleasing effect without being too bound by real exact reality. Given my subject matter…

View original post 807 more words

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

