Draw Out 1 – The Inaugural Walk

After talking the talk for some weeks, today was the day I had to walk the walk! Sandwiched between heavy rain last week and the promise of more rain next week we had a splendid sunny day for our first Walk with a Sketch Book, which after suggestions I have decided to call “Draw Out” as we are drawing, we’ll be outside and the purpose is to “draw out” the creativity and talent within us. Five of us, Margaret, Elizabeth, Julie, Linda and myself, met up and headed up to the Japanese Gardens at Rivington.

According to Wikipedia: “William Lever, Lord Leverhulme bought the estate in 1899 and donated 360 acres (1.5 km2) of land to the people of his native Bolton as a public park. … The park opened in 1904 and contained a boating lake, a zoo, tree-lined avenues and a network of footpaths. A folly, Rivington Castle, was built as a scale replica of Liverpool Castle. … The private gardens contained terraces and a pool, a Japanese lake and pagoda, Italian-style gardens, a seven-arched bridge and the Pigeon Tower with Lady Leverhulme’s sewing room on the top floor.”

The plan was to spend some time sketching at the seven arches before heading down again. Here is Julie’s sketch of one of the archways (I hadn’t realised my shadow was on the drawing when I photographed it!):

My photograph of the same archway.

I also didn’t realise I was “on shot” when Linda was sketching the seven arches!

A scan of my charcoal sketch of a stile

After we had headed back down for refreshments at the two barns, we walked over to the Castle for another batch of sketching before returning to the car park and home.

Julie sketching at the Castle

I think the walk was a success and I’m now planning next month’s Draw Out 2 around Castlefield, Manchester, and Odsall Hall. Weather permitting it will be on the second Sunday of June, i.e. June 10th. Let me know if you are in the area fancy joining us.

About notes to the milkman

I'm a printmaker based in the North West of England, living in Bolton and printing at Hot Bed Press in Salford. Please visit my website johnpindararts.weebly.com
This entry was posted in Drawing, Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Draw Out 1 – The Inaugural Walk

  1. clinock says:

    ‘Draw Out’, perfect title – looks like a perfect day too…

  2. jbart3916 says:

    I love this idea. I wish I could be there to join the group.

    • If you’re in the Manchester/Salford area on Sunday June 10th you’ll be more than welcome to join us. Send me an email to johnpindar at hotmail dot com The walks will be on the second Sunday of the month until September or October. If you do plan to come along I’d need a mobile number in case we need to cancel because of bad weather at the last minute. Hope you can make it.

      • jbart3916 says:

        Like I said, I would love to be there, but it is a long way from Minnesota to Manchester.
        I have visited England many times, and hope to get back again soon. When I do, perhaps you’ll be having a a Draw Out and I can join the group.

  3. Feel free to copy the idea! I “was inspired by” (that’s posh for “pinched the idea from”) a weekend course in the Lake District where, basically, you paid an couple of hundred pounds just to be taken out to draw or paint. OK it was tutored, which Draw Out is not, but I thought I could do that cheaper and locally. I look forward to seeing the results of Draw Out (Minnesota Chapter).

  4. Pingback: Draw Out 2 – A Cunning Plan! | notes to the milkman

  5. Pingback: Finally! Draw Out 2 in Castlefield at 4th Attempt | notes to the milkman

  6. Good that you got some decent weather for your sketchcrawl. BTW you are probably aware that this Saturday (13th Oct) is Global Sketchcrawl Day # 37. If not, more info at http://www.sketchcrawl.com/ .

  7. Pingback: Urban Sketching In Manchester | notes to the milkman

  8. Pingback: Preamble to Unit 3 – Drawing Outside | The Milkman Goes To College

What do you think?

